On Friday 20th November, the underage boys and girls from the Kilmeena parish were honoured at our annual presentation night held in The Mill Times Hotel. 
John McDonald, Chairman of Kilmeena Bord na nÓg welcomed all the young players and their families. Our special guest Kevin McLoughlin from the Mayo Senior team presented the awards. The Mayo Minor Captain, Shauna Howley alongside her teammate and local Kilmeena girl, Fiona Groden also helped with the presentations on the evening.
The following teams were successful in competitions held throughout the year:
Under 12 Girls: Won the under 12 blitz in the Neale. This was a great achievement for this bunch of players as it’s the first time since the formation of the Ladies club to see silverware at this level. This trophy reflects on the hard work and determination from the girls and the commitment from the managers and mentors Ollie Mulchrone, Colm Barrett, Mary Mulachy, Geraldine Gibbons and Ann Hastings.
Under 10 Boys: Under the management of Pat Mulchrone, Damian Hughes, Mike Slattery, Dermot Tiernan and Ann Hastings, this group of 32 boys won two cups in Burrishroole, The Tourmakeady cup and The Paddy Golden Shield. These lads are definitely a panel to watch. All year they displayed strong football and good sportsmanship. They present great potential for the future.

The Local Winter League:
Willie Keaveney presented the Declan Gibbons Memorial cup to Captain Mickey Hastings.
Willie Quinn presented the Willie Quinn Cup to Captain Tom Smyth.
Tom Ryan presented the Ryan Cup to Captain Jason Mc Glynn.
Gerard McGreeve presented the Kelly Cup to Captain Shannon Bourke.

Skills Winners were as follows:
Girls Section:                                                                    Boys Section:                               
U10 Lisa Hastings.                                                   U10 Donal Hastings.
U12 Abbey McGreal.                                                U12 Colin Hastings.
U13 Shannon Bourke.                                              U13 Cillian O’Grady.

The final proceedings of the night were the Player of the Year Awards.
Girls Player of the Year awards:                           
U12     Ciara Joyce
U14     Katie Hogan
U16     Lucy O’Malley

Boys Player of the Year:
U12     Chris Mc Glynn
U13     Cian Moore (absent)
U14     Jack Carney
U15     John Mc Glynn   
U16     Keith Joyce – (Ciara accepted this award on behalf of her brother)   

After the awards Kevin McLoughlin spoke about the importance of developing your ball skill and how prospering this skill is essential to improve as a footballer. ‘You need to have the football in your hand all the time, that’s how you’re going to become a good footballer’.
Club Chairmen, Willie Keaveney and John McDonald thanked all the sponsors and all the members and their families who attended the presentation evening. Willie urges more people to get involved in the running of the club, in particular the ladies. Without volunteers the club will cease to exist. It’s necessary for you, the parents or older siblings to take the initiative to help out in any way you can. There will be a ladies football meeting this Wednesday 25th of November at 8:30pm in the clubhouse. It is essential that people attend and are willing to volunteer their time: ‘Volunteers are not paid – not because they are worthless, but because they are priceless’.
On a different note (pardon the pun), Kilmeena GAA and the Kilmeena parish would like to wish John Ryan Jr, Róisín Hogan, Muireann Cawley and Ben Lennon the best of luck in Scór na nÓg. 

Event Report: Sarah Hogan






(Images courtesy of Mary Kelly and Ann-Marie Mulloy)

Events Calendar

April 2020
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3


Who's Online

We have 88 guests and no members online